Geeky updates and Free Cursed Titans chapters for you

As you can notice, I have fallen behind once more in updating the blog. I mean, I can see the cowebs al over the place. In part is because I’ve been so busy with my day job that I can barely have respite. Let me tell you, teaching online is not as easy as it sounds. I actually find it more stressing (although I welcome the rest of my work activities that allow me to do them from home, which is good for someone who suffers from anxiety and doesn’t get along with his colleagues). Another reason is that Geoff -my editor- and I have been putting the final touches on “The Cursed Titans” to get it ready for launch later in July. And the final reason, is that I have been missing motivation to write about something not being a short story or the Tempest Blades Universe. But I will try to correct that with some quick comments about the geeky stuff I’ve been doing:

-I wanted the Snyder cut. Much virtual ink has been written about it, so I will keep my thoughts succint: it’s is way, way better, the characters are more fleshed, more akin to their comic counterparts, specially Batman and Flash. The final scene with Flash rings true to what the character is actually capable of doing and not the comic relief that Whedon made him be. The use of Darkseid as the big scope villain was awesome (he is one if not my favorite villian due how nightmarish he is). And lastly but more important: Cyborg. He is the central character of this film, the heart of the story and the way Whedon mutilated Ray Fisher’s work is a travesty. Ray and by extension Cyborg, deserved better. But I’va learned that since the ending of the DCAU, WB and DC can’t avoid getting in their own ways when it comes to using their characters in media representation. I have no hopes for a larger DCEU and I guess I will have to settle for good individual movies.

-Marvel on the other hand is knocking it out of the field with their tv shows. Wandavision was innovative, creative and possibly, one of the best depictions of depression and mourning ever made in media. Very cathartic given the times we live. The ending could have been slightly better, but I’m eager to see what Wanda does in Doctor Strange 2. While Wandavision is the superior show, I’m enjoying more Falcon & The Winder Soldier. Despite it’s flaws, the way the stakes are increasing, the cast and above all the discussions on systemic racism and legacies are what make this show work. Wyatt Russell is doing a super job as John Walker and his slow descent into madness, Daniel Bruhl should have his own show/movie leading the Thunderbolts as Zemo, Sebastian Stan is portratying Bucky with the world weariness aura of a soldier tired of fighting but not knowing what else to do to redeem for his past mistakes (sound similar to Fionn). But in my opinion the best has been Anthony Mackie. His portrayal of Sam as a good person who is a hero because it comes naturally to who he is, is making of Falcon one of my favorite Avengers ever. Heck at this point I’m wondering if Mackie’s Sam will eventually be able to lift Mjolnir. Because he is worthy and you can see from the very first minute why Steve chose him as his successor.

-Also, I liked the ending of Attack on Titan, even if I find it depressing. No idea why people keep saying is a run of the mill shonen ending. It’s barely bittersweet!

-I might have plotted the whole Tempest Blades story for the next (and final) 2-3 books. More details later.

-Finally, and as courtesy of my publisher, Artemesia Publishing, you can read for free the first 2 chapters of Tempest Blades: The Cursed Titans, by using the QR code in the below promotional image. And remember that if you like that preview, you can pre order the book here (I will be sharing non-Amazon links once I have them).

P.D. Would you be interested in purchasing either a collection of storiestaking place in the Tempest Blades Universe, or a book in the vein of ‘World of Ice & Fire’, written in character by Harland and talking about the myth and lore of the Tempest Blades Universe.



New Year, New Book, New Cover for The Cursed Titans

So, first of all, Happy (belated) New Year! We survived 2020 and now we need to focus on surviving 2021.

That said, I have a new book coming out this year, on July 20th, to be exact. The second book on the Tempest Blades series, “The Cursed Titans” follows up on the consequences of the events in the previous book (but don’t worry, it’s written to be also a stand-alone adventure). And the main focus changes from Fionn to Alex (the 2nd book will be Gaby-centric and hopefully the 4th one will focus on Sam). So with a new book, comes a new blurb, and a new cover, which I will be revealing here.

The blurb is:

“The triennial Chivalry Games have returned! After helping to destroy the Withered King, Alex and the rest of the group find out that saving the world has consequences. While he is secretly battling with depression and with the Alliance on the verge of collapse, a diplomatic summit and the Chivalry Games—to be held in the far off Kuni Empire—may give everyone the opportunity to turn things around. Alex builds a team to represent the Foundation in the Games, facing off against the best fighters in the world.

When an ancient being tries to raise legendary nightmares known as Titans using the peace talks as a trap, Alex has to find a way to save everyone before it is too late. Alex must learn that he is not truly alone to save the world from the chaos of the Titans.

In a world where magic and science intermingle, anything is possible.

And here is the full cover art. Like the last time, it was created by my friend and fellow Mexican artist Salvador Velázquez. I have to say, this one is more impressive than the previous one. On it, you can see Alex, Kasumi (new character!), Sam, and Sid battling a biomechanical wyrm outside a temple at the Kuni Empire capital.

This is how it looks with the blurb (ISBN barcode pending):

perf5.500x8.500.indd

 

And this is the Front cover:

You can start preordering the book at this link: https://www.amazon.com/dp/1951122208/

This is looking to be a pretty epic book, between the cover and the story. Remember, 20th of July.